Sunday, 14 October 2018

Uriah Heep - Living The Dream (2018)

To be honest, after their album Salisbury from 1971 and their hit single 'Lady in Black', which was very popular at least in Germany, I did not follow the career of Uriah Heep much. So I was positively surprised when I listened to their new album 'Living The Dream', which was released only this year. It is not as great as Salisbury, but it is a very solid piece of classic hard rock, with guitarist Mick Box as the last remaining original member.

Starport Omega : Saturday 6 pm SLT (Sunday 03:00 CEST, 02:00 BST)
Floating Islands : Sunday 3 pm SLT (Monday 00:00 CEST, Sunday 23:00 BST)
My streaming URL

Saturday, 6 October 2018

Riverside - Wasteland (2018)

Riverside, a band founded in 2001 in Warsaw, Poland, has released seven albums so far. After the long time guitarist Piotr Grudzinski passed away, they decided to continue as a trio on their seventh and latest album, with several guitarists as guests. How did this change influence their music? I would say, the music became less heavy metallic and more melodic, which is good for all who love more melodic and symphonic style prog rock. With this release they went on a similar path as Opeth, and I am really surpised of the good compositional quality of the nine new songs on the album. Their creativity seem to be unbroken!

Starport Omega : Saturday 6 pm SLT (Sunday 03:00 CEST, 02:00 BST)
Floating Islands : Sunday 3 pm SLT (Monday 00:00 CEST, Sunday 23:00 BST)
My streaming URL